I just finnished watching two of the three Zeitgeist movies and I have to say that I am absolutely confused.
Not because of what I´ve seen, because, although some of the things they told are new to me, most of the things are common sense, or at least to me, but because I realize that even though they are common sense, I completely ignore these things in my day to day life.
I feel like, I´m programed to live a certain way and accept things the way they are, even though I know that it is wrong and I´m waisting my potential and that of everyone and thing arround me.
I still turn on my tv everyday and listen to the bullshit they tell, even though I know it´s bulshit.
I still look desperatly for a job, thinking that one day I will find one and be able to pay my debts, knowing it will only be to get higher debts so I will have to work for the rest of my life, and if Im lucky I will get a little bit of money at the end of my days after working like an ant in this ant colony.
Because, isnt that what we are? Merely ants in an ant colony? No we are even wors than that, because ants work for the survival of their species and their world, and we work so that a very small group of very rich people stay very rich. We are their slaves and we have no rights. They tell us we do, and make us believe we do, but we dont, and we accept that in exchange for another mortgache, another loan, another credit card...
So we can turn on our TV at the end of the day and listen to the bullshit they tell us, so they can sell us their products, and make us believe we need them.
All of this reminds me of a film I saw recently, and you are probably gonna laugh: Wall-e
Anyone who has seen Wall-e knows that humans excisted living in their big space ship, watching their monitors all day, to the point they didnt even speak to eachother if not through their computer monitors. And they were surrounded by constand immages of products they were made to believe they needed, completly oblivious of the reality of their situation. They lived in a system that controled them, told them what to ware, what to say, what to think, what to do. And when the system was shutdown, they finally looked arround to see the reality and returned to the earth to safe what was left of their planet.
We look at this film, and we laugh, thinking about how immaginative the writers of the movie are, but are they?
No they are not. They are marely copying reality. This is how we live, with our televisions turned on, sipping our cocacola, buying our so called
necessary products, going to our jobs, and going on about life, as if that is reality.
The reality is that we are being brainwashed every single day. From the moment we get up in the morning to the moment we go to sleep. Even those who wake up in the morning trying to make a change, are conditioned by that they hear, see, smell and taste every single day.
We are all conditioned. So this is where I get confused. What can I do, to change from being conditioned? I dont want to be a slave of the system, but can I brake free? Is getting away from everything and opening up my own little shop, that I stock only with products made by myself, enough to escape?
No. Because one day I will have to go to the doctor, and I will have to pay that doctor, thus so becoming again part of the system. One day I will have to get on a plain to visit my family, and I will have to buy a ticket and once more become part of the system. How do we break the system?? Dont we need money to break the system? And isnt money The System?
Now I think of all the times I´ve heard someone say: I dont wanna work for the man! And I thought; What the hell are you talking about? Who is the man? Now I know. Now I understand. And still here I stand, completely powerless. Where do I go from here?
No hay comentarios:
Publicar un comentario